Firearms Licensing & Categories

Firearms Licensing and Permits

In general, to obtain a firearms licence for Category A or B firearms (see below for more details on Categories), an individual must have:

  • a genuine reason to use a firearm (this may include hunting, pest control, or shooting sports);
  • completed the appropriate safety course through the relevant authority;
  • all relevant identification documents; and
  • other forms and permits, as determined by the relevant authority.

Firearms licensing and permits differ depending on the state or territory of residence of the licence-holder. All firearms licensing in Australia is under the jurisdiction of the relevant state or territory police.

Please note, that some firearm categories require different types of firearms licence. You can find more information at the links above on the different licence categories and what they cover.

Firearm Categories

While firearms licensing and hunting regulations differ from state to state, the National Firearms Agreement sets out the different categories of firearms that are legal in Australia. The different categories of firearms are the same in every state and territory in Australia.

Category A and B firearms are the most common types of firearms used by Field & Game Australia members, hunters, and clay target sport participants in Australia. Category A firearms include:

  • Air rifles
  • Blank-fire firearms at least 75 cm in length
  • Rim-fire rifles (other than self-loading rim-fire rifles)
  • Shotguns (other than pump-action or self-loading shotguns) (this includes lever-action shotguns)
  • Break-action shotgun/rim-fire rifle combination firearms

Category B firearms:

  • Muzzle-loading firearms
  • Single-shot centre-fire rifles
  • Double barrel centre-fire rifles
  • Repeating centre-fire rifles
  • Break action shotgun/centre-fire rifle combination firearms

Category C firearms:

  • Semiautomatic rim-fire rifles (with a magazine capacity no greater than 10 rounds)
  • Semiautomatic shotguns (with a magazine capacity no greater than 5 rounds)
  • Pump-action shotguns (with a magazine capacity no greater than 5 rounds)

For more information on firearms categories, and the National Firearms Agreement, visit the Attorney-General Department website at

Dummy text